I was away last week with family but I did manage to make the Coronation Rolls which we had for lunch during the week.  I have to say, I had my eye on these rolls since my first skim through of the book and I couldn’t wait to try them.  They certainly didn’t disappoint.  I love the curry and apricot combination which tames the mayonnaise.  I have to admit that I hate mayonnaise and this combination made me forget I was eating it.  It was so smooth and velvety and the perfect foil for the delicate chicken meat.   I will definitely be making these again often.

I

It is strange, but in the past few months I have seen Waldorf Salad on the luncheon menus of several restaurants here in San Diego.  I guess it is the whole retro food thing that is going on.  Just like the Iceberg Wedge Salad and Green Goddess Dressing, Waldorf Salad seems to be making a comeback.  I have a penchant for Iceberg lettuce and Green Goddess dressing so I am glad to see all the old time favorites coming back.  I remember my mom making Waldorf Salad for fancy dinner parties and her bridge club.  She would serve it on fancy plates piled on a bed of lettuce.  Of course her’s had the usual apples, celery and nuts but in keeping with the trend of the time it also had mandarin oranges and marshmallows.  While I am glad to see the marshmallows go by the wayside, I think the mandarin oranges added a nice spark to this refreshing salad and I will include them when I make this again.  We all loved it.

There is nothing quite as comforting as chicken pot pie.  I have always loved it but usually reserved it for luncheons in restaurants.  I don’t know why, it just seemed like it was too much bother to make during the week.  Amazing how I will spend hours making rather ordinary things and think nothing of it and then when it comes to something really good like this, I balk and think it is too much work.  Whatever my reasons for that, they are gone.  This was simple to put together, can be prepped and actually composed days ahead and then baked at the last minute.  It was no work at all other than a bit of vegetable prep and boy does it pay off in taste.  The smooth and rich gravy, big pieces of chicken and the tender vegetables, all baked under the tender puff pastry crust.  Definitely a do often recipe.

