ABC Bakers: Butterscotch Spiral Coffee Cake

I have always enjoyed working with yeast doughs.  There is something very satisfying about taking yeast and water and flour and ending up with a light, risen and almost earthy finished product.  Unfortunately, many people are put off by making yeasted baked goods.  Not so much because they feel they are difficult but because of the proofing and rising times, it sometimes seems as if there just isn’t enough time during a busy day to make a yeasted baked good.  This recipe is proof positive that a fine quality yeasted baked good is quite doable in a relatively short period of time.  That alone is enough to make you want to bake this but one taste and you will want to make it every week.  It is almost like a cinnamon roll on steroids. Not only is it of grand size but the flavors are big and bold and gutsy.  You can certainly play with your own spice combinations not only in the filling but in the dough itself.

I did take Hanna’s advice and double the quantity of spices in the dough and I can see where neglecting to do so would make for a more subtly flavored dough.  I am glad that I doubled mine.  I doubled the amount of cinnamon filling as well and I still didn’t feel like it was enough. The next time I make this I will triple it.  I also think that I would like to play around with the addition of walnuts or pecans to this recipe.  Another thought was to add a simple powdered sugar glaze on top of the butterscotch.  I may just be going for overkill here but I just can’t seem to stop myself from wanting to add more and more to this already delicious coffee cake.  I did make one other change.  I thought that I had a full bottle of dark corn syrup in the pantry and when it came time to make the butterscotch glaze it turned out that I didn’t so I substituted molasses for the dark corn syrup.  While it wasn’t a true butterscotch, it was certainly a rich and bold almost spicy glaze and I don’t think my coffee cake suffered from it in the slightest.  All in all, this is a great cake to have on hand at all times.

The risen dough
The filling

The rolled dough ready to rise

3 thoughts on “ABC Bakers: Butterscotch Spiral Coffee Cake

  1. wow, you really did double the glaze.. I did too and like you I think I may triple it the next time as well… it needed more… I got a tip to cover the filling with apple butter as well…. made a note to do that next time.

  2. Great job! I’m glad the spice modifications worked and have to agree it could use even more next time :o) Glad you enjoyed it, nevertheless.

Leave a Reply

