aboveSome friends of mine who are doll collectors asked me to make a cake for their doll club to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the creation of their favorite fashion doll Tyler Wentworth by Robert Tonner of the Tonner Doll Company.  Since it is fall and so close to Thanksgiving I decided to make something pumpkin.  This pumpkin cake recipe is very easy to make and is always well received.  I have had it in my files for so many years that I don’t even remember where I got it or who I got it from.  It’s usually baked in a 10 inch tube or bundt pan but this time I decided to dress it up for the club and baked it in a heart shaped pan.

I split the cake into two layers and filled and frosted it with Cream Cheese frosting.  For decoration I printed a classic picture of Tyler doll on rice paper using edible ink and applied it to the top of the cake with clear piping gel. (While this ink and rice paper are edible, I must admit that they don’t  taste very good.  I usually just peal the rice paper decorations off when I serve the cake)  Then a few frills to complete the cake.  Happy Birthday Tyler.

 

 

finished

overall

Pumpkin Cake
Printer Friendly Version
Serves 14

1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
2 cups white sugar
4 eggs
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups solid pack pumpkin puree
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Grease and flour a 10 inch tube pan. Sift together flour, soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine oil and sugar. Add eggs one at a time and mix well. Add the flour mixture and beat until smooth. Add nuts and pumpkin and blend until smooth. Pour batter into greased 10 inch tube pan.

Bake at 375 degrees F  for 1 hour or until a toothpick inserted into the center of cake comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and finish cooling. Dust with confectioners sugar before serving.

Cream Cheese Frosting
Printer Friendly Version
Makes 3 cups

2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, cream together the cream cheese and butter until creamy. Mix in the vanilla, then gradually stir in the confectioners’ sugar. Store in the refrigerator after use.

