Being diabetic in a household of diabetics, I make alot of angel food cakes.  We have them plain, with strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, kiwis, vanilla custard.  You name it.  So when I saw this weeks cake selection I thought, “Oh great, another angel food cake”.  At least I knew that everyone would like it and I wouldn’t have to toss it or unload it on my unsuspecting co-workers.  Imagine my surprise when I took my first taste.  This was absolutely delicious. I was amazed at the depth of character that just 2 ounces of chocolate delivered in this cake.  Almost as surprising as that tiny bit of cinnamon in the Chocolate Streusel cake.  It struck me as soon as I took it out of the oven.  What a deep and pleasant aroma, not the usual sugary sweetness of a traditional angel food cake.  This has alot more egg whites that my usual angel food recipe but the taste is well worth the extra egg expenditure. 

The cake goes together pretty much like a traditional angel food cake. The whites are beaten with the sugar into a stiff merinque.  With 2 teaspoons cream of tartar and 3/4 cup of sugar you can pretty much forget about any danger of over whipping these egg white.  Once they are beaten to stiff peaks you simply fold in the flour mixture and the grated chocolate and bake.  My cake tested done after 30 minutes in my convection oven at 325 degrees.  I just inverted the cake on a wine bottle and left it to cool.  Actually I got kind of busy and it stayed there overnight.

The stiffly beaten egg whites

The cake ready to be baked

In the morning I unmolded the cake and sliced it into three layers.  I whipped my heavy cream and folded in the ground almonds and grated chocolate.  I filled the layers and then frosted the entire cake with the rest of the whipped cream.  Then I decorated the cake with the mini chocolate chips.  Rose’s instructions say that it is easier to get the chips to adhere if you pelt the cake with them.  She is right, they really adhered and I had a great time doing it but now I am finding those little suckers all over my kitchen.  I guess I had too much fun.  I really don’t find this a particularly attractive presentation but what it lacks in visual appeal it makes up for in whopping good taste.  To be perfectly honest.  I think this cake is so good, it is a shame to frost it.  The next time I am skipping the whipped cream and serving it naked.  You all need to try this cake.

 

Next Up:  Individual Pineapple Upside Down Cakes.

