Well as you know I hate these individual serving desserts, not because they aren’t good but because I am an old cuss and I have no patience for making them.  With that said I have got to admit that these cupcakes are just plain good.  While I did complain the entire time I was making them (it isn’t really making them that I object to,  its decorating them and storing them and plating them and just about everything else it takes to get them out of the oven and onto the serving plate.  I just really prefer one single cake, or pie, or loaf of bread.  Okay, I got that out of my system.  These really were easy to put together and they are just plain good eating.  They have a very nice chocolate taste without being heavy or cloying or too sweet.  Actually these cupcakes were the perfect thing for this week because I hosted my collectors club these weekend and they were much easier to serve than trying to slice and plate a cake for everyone.  And I have to admit that the group ate most of them and everyone I asked said they liked them.  Lets get down to making them.

Boiling water is added to the cocoa and the cocoa is dissolved and set aside.  Eggs, water and vanilla are mixed and set aside.  In the bowl of a stand mixer the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt are mixed on low speed to combine.  Butter and the chocolate mixture are added and blended until the dry ingredients are moistened.  The mixture is then beaten on medium speed for a minute and a half to set the structure.  The egg mixture is added in two additions, blending for 30 seconds between each addition. 

Adding the butter

Adding the chocolate

The batter is then spooned into a muffin pan lined with cupcake liners.  An interesting note here and if anyone knows why Rose says this please let me know.  In the recipe Rose states to line the muffin pan with cupcake liners and then coat the liners with baking spray with flour.  WHY?  What is the point of using cupcake liners if you are going to grease the liners?  I thought that was the point of using liners.  You don’t really need to have the cupcake release from the liner, you just peel it off.  At any rate, I ignored this step and just spooned the batter into the plain liners. 

The completed batter

Ready for the oven

Into the oven.  Mine were done after 15 minutes at 325 convection.

The baked cupcakes

Since Rose did not recommend any particular frosting (and to be honest these are good enough to go without) I chose the Chocolate-Egg White Buttercream.  Mostly because Rose says its easy and foolproof and I had alot going on this weekend and didn’t really have the time to fuss more than I was already fussing with these things.  As any of you who have read my blog know, I have often had exception with Rose’s buttercreams.  This one is no exception.  It is completely delicious but as I often complain about it is so soft it is a nightmare to work with.  While I was frosting these cupcakes I had to put it back in the refrigerator no less than 6 times before I finished.  I would no sooner frost 2 cupcakes and it would be melting all over the place.  At any rate, it was very easy and quick to make,  just be sure to pour on the speed when you start to frost.

Melt the chocolate using your preferred method and set aside to cool.  Beat the butter until creamy.   In a separate bowl whip the egg whites until frothy, then add the cream of tartar and whip to soft peak stage.  Gradually begin to add the sugar while beating to the stiff peak stage.  Beat in the creamed butter by the tablespoon. When all the butter is incorporated add the melted chocolate and beat to combine.  Refrigerate until ready to use.  Bring to room temperature before using.

Next Up: Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cake

