I seriously thought about not making this weeks recipe.  It’s been a rather stressful week and I wasn’t sure how much in the mood I was to tackle a baking project this week.  Plus, it was cupcakes which everyone knows I detest.  Then as I was reading through the recipe I started seeing all the gimmicks again and I really wasn’t sure that I wanted to be bothered with these.  It was a last minute decision to go ahead and do them.  I know that I will incur the wrath of many for this but I absolutely can not wait until this national craze for having cutesy, ridiculous cupcakes for every occasion has vanished.  I can’t wait until cupcakes are once again a lunchbox snack for 5 year olds and not smacking me in the face everywhere I go.  There, I said it and I feel much better.  These were okay but I think I am still OD’d on last weeks way too intense blast of chocolate.  I find that as I get older my tolerance for chocolate is decreasing and I just found last weeks recipe as well as these to be way too chocolate for my taste.  I know I will never make these again but if someone asked me I would say to leave out the syrup and the glaze and just frost them with a nice vanilla buttercream and be done with it.  Okay, enough griping.  Let’s bake.

They are really very easy to make.  Cocoa and boiling water are mixed and set aside to come to room temperature.  (We have done this in several recipes and I have to wonder if using melted chocolate would work just as well, realizing there is a difference in cocoa butter and fat content.  I need to try it someday). 

Cocoa and boiling water mixture

Meanwhile whisk together cake and all purpose flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt and set aside. 

Dry ingredients

When the cocoa mixture is at room temperature add the oil and egg yolks and mix, starting on low speed and gradually increasing to medium.  Beat this mixture for about a minute. Then add half the flour mixture and beat to moisten the dry ingredients.  Add the remaining dry ingredients and mix thoroughly. 

Adding the dry ingredients

Then add the egg whites and blend starting on low and gradually increasing to medium-high.  Beat for about 2 minutes.  Pour the batter into a cup with a pour spout. 

The completed batter

 Pour the batter into the prepared cupcake cups.  I still never understand why Rose wants us to grease and flour the paper liners but suffice it to say I never do it.  And I won’t even get into the silliness with the foil liners and the paper liners.  Suffice it to say, I didn’t do it. 

Ready for baking

 Bake the cupcakes for 15 to 20 minutes at 350 degrees.

The baked cupcakes

While the cupcakes are baking,  prepare the ganache syrup.  Chop the milk and dark chocolates and put them in a bowl.  Scald the cream and pour it over the chopped chocolate and whisk until smooth, then whisk in the vanilla. 

The finished ganache syrup

While the baked cupcakes are still hot, poke holes all over them with a skewer and brush the syrup over them and allow it to sink in.  Repeat this process until all the syrup is used. 

Applying the ganache syrup

Make the lacquer glaze.  We have done this several times so I won’t bother to go over the method for that again.  Glaze the cupcakes by pouring the glaze over them with a teaspoon and smoothing it with the back of the spoon.  Allow the glaze to set.  Enjoy!

Next Up:  Lemon Meringue Cake

