I have to admit I was very intrigued by this weeks dessert.  I liked its old fashioned simplicity.  The kind of dessert your mother or grandmother would make, only with a slight twist.  This odd combination of fruits.  I must say that I would never have chosen this combination.  Plums or blueberries on their own but not together.  And especially with caramel.  I found that very odd.  I would have thought maybe nectarines and blueberries with caramel, or peaches and blueberries with caramel but not plums and blueberries with caramel.  As it turns out this odd combination works very well.  It is homey and rich and I think the only word I can think of is lush.  These dark fruits are creamy and intense and something about baked plus is just very satisfying.  Even the caramel works on some odd level but I have to admit, I think I would have like it just as well if not more without it.  And, I am going to try this with nectarines and blueberries and peaches and blueberries.  At any rate, it is a very simple dessert and quick to put together with only a few ingredients so lets not linger here…to the kitchen and let’s bake. 

The plums are washed and pitted and then sliced. The blueberries are rinsed, dried and set aside.  Combine sugar and water and stir to dissolve the sugar.  Heat this mixture until boiling and then continue to boil to an amber color, watching it carefully during this process.  It should read about 370 degrees on a candy thermometer.  Pour the finished caramel into the prepared pan. 

Boiling the sugar

 Arrange the plums on top of the caramel, then sprinkle the blueberries over the plums. 

The arranged plums

The arranged blueberries

To prepare the batter, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in the work bowl of a food processor until just combined.  

Blending the dry ingredients

Add butter and process until the dry ingredients are moistened.  

Adding the butter

The butter incorporated

Then add eggs and vanilla and process until the batter is smooth.  

Adding the eggs and vanilla

 Spoon the batter over the fruit and then smooth it out and even the top.  

Spooning on the batter

Smoothing the top

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 40 to 50 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.  Cool the cake in the pan on a rack for 5 minutes and then invert over a serving plate and allow to stand for 2 to 3 minutes. Then unmold the cake. 

 

 

Enjoy!

Next Up: Chocolate Feather Bed

 

