I was excited to see that this weeks recipe wasn’t chocolate.  I am still suffering from chocolate overload and this months Avid Bakers recipe is a chocolate cake so I really didn’t want to do two chocolate desserts in one week.  I wish I could say that I was wowed by these little cakes but I really wasn’t.  I found that they were very dense and dry and almost totally lacking in flavor.  I thought they were very very bland and not appetizing at all.  I took a bit of license this week.  Since the recipe calls for the 1/4 cup financier pans and I wasn’t able to find those the last time we made these type of cakes, I got a different type of bar pan.  It is a 1/2 cup size and the last time I used it the cakes came out too flat so I doubled the recipe this time to accommodate the larger capacity pan.  I should have just skipped it all together and just baked this in a loaf pan since it seems to have more the texture of a quick bread than a cake.  At any rate, I didn’t like it well enough to ever want to make it again.  It’s an easy recipe so shall we repair to the kitchen and bake these cakes?………….. 

First toast the almonds and then grind them in the food processor with the sugar until finely ground. 

Next make the beurre noisette and set aside.  At the same time melt the rest of the butter and set it aside.  Keep both butters warm until ready to use. 

Making beurre noisette 

In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix the almond mixture, flour and baking powder to blend.  Add the egg whites and beat until well blended.  Add the vanilla and beat to incorporate. 

Mixing the dry ingredients

Adding the egg whites

 

With the mixer on medium low, add the beurre noisette and then the melted butter.  Continue beating the mixture until it emulsifies into a creamy mixture. 

Adding the beurre noisetteAdding the melted butter

The finished batter

Ready for the oven

Spoon the batter into the prepared mold and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until they test done.  Allow the cakes to cool in the pan for 10 minutes on a rack and then unmold and cool completely.  Enjoy! 

 

 

  

 

Next Up:  Free Choice…Have to wait and see.

 

