First off I would like to thank everyone for all the kind words and thoughts.  They were very much appreciated.  Things seem to be coming back to normal and it appears that all will be well given time so I am thankful for that.  It was, however, another rather hectic week so this will be another short blog and I didn’t get any step by step pictures again but this was such an easy cake it hardly seemed worth it anyway.

I remember my mom and my aunts making these tomato soup cakes when I was a child.  This one doesn’t seem any different from the versions I remember growing up with.  I found this to be a rather sturdy cake but still moist with a nice chocolate flavor.  I would indeed make it again for a nice to have around snack cake.  I have to admit that it seemed rather pointless to add that 1/4 cup of tomato soup to the ganache on top of 12 ounces of dark chocolate.  There is no way I believe that the soup would have any effect what so ever with all that chocolate. I wouldn’t even bother with it and just make the ganache without it.  Also, I didn’t really pay attention when I was shopping as I was in a hurry and was just grabbing what I needed.  When I got home and looked at the bill, these Pirouette cookies were $7.50 a can and this recipe called for two cans.  That seems totally ridiculous for a gimmicky decoration.  I am still kicking myself in the rear for buying them.  I will pay more attention next time.  At any rate, the cake was delicious and everyone at work enjoyed it.  Enjoy!

Next Up:  Caramelized Pineapple Pudding Cakes with Homemade Brioche

