I absolutely love the combination of chocolate and orange so I knew I was going to love this cake, and I certainly did.  When I took it out of the oven and set it to cool it completely filled my house with that glorious scent of orange and it was all I could do to wait until it was cool to taste it.  I could tell from that heavenly aroma that this cake was going to be spectacular.  I loved it.  And it could not have been easier to make.

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer.  In another bowl combine egg yolks, oil, orange sugar and orange juice and whisk to aerate.  Pour the egg yolk mixture into the center well of the dry ingredients and mix on low speed until the mixture is thoroughly combined. 

 

In another bowl from a stand mixer whip the egg whites until foamy, then increase the speed and continue whisking until soft peaks form.  Gradually add the remaining sugar and beat until stiff peaks form and the whites are glossy but not dry. 

Add about 1/3 of the egg whites to the egg yolk mixture and stir to lighten it.  Quickly fold in the remaining whites and then fold in the grated chocolate. 

 Pour the mixture into the prepared tube pan and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until the cake tests done. 

 

 
Turn the cake upside down onto a long necked bottle to cool completely.  When cool unmold onto a serving platter and enjoy.

I made the accompanying sabayon but I really felt that it would take away from the pure orange taste of this cake so we ate it as a separate dessert with biscotti and coffee.  It too was mild and delicious.  I definitely would recommend it as well.

