I took a rather traditional route on this cake. This one, like so many other cakes we have made led me straight back to my mothers kitchen.  It’s funny how that happens.  I guess I spend more time in the kitchen as a child than I ever thought possible.  So many recipes remind me of dishes that my mom made and that I still enjoy.  Angel food cake is one of those foods.  My mom made angel food cake alot. She would serve it in big wedges with whipped cream and fresh fruit or fruit compote.  One of my favorites was with sliced strawberries and that is how I went with this cake.  I sliced the cake into layers and filled the layers with whipped cream flavored with strawberry puree which gave it an ever so slight pink tint.  Then I layered in sliced strawberries and frosted the layers with more of the pink tinted whipped cream.  Takes me right back to mom’s kitchen.  Let’s bake….. 

I have always found making angel food cake to be an easy task.  My only problem was finding something to do with all those egg yolks.  I alway end up storing them in the freezer and finally, when I absolutely have to have the freezer space I end up tossing them.  I waste more egg yolks that way.  For this cake, whisk together half the sugar, the flour and the salt and set aside until needed. 

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the egg whites until foamy.  Turn the mixer off and add the lemon juice and cream of tartar.   Beat the whites until soft peaks form and then gradually add the remaining sugar and continue beating until stiff peaks form. 

Adding lemon juice

Adding cream of tartar

Whipping the egg whites

Stiffly beaten egg whites

Sift the dry ingredients over the beaten egg whites and gently fold them in, doing this in several additions to avoid deflating the beaten egg whites.  Work quickly.  Spoon the finished batter into a prepared tube pan and bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.  Invert the pan over a long necked bottle and allow it to cool completely for about 2 hours.  Unmold the cake and finish as desired.  Enjoy. 

Slice the cake into layers, fill each layer with whipped cream and sliced strawberries.

  

Next Up:  Bostini

