Am I the only person who didn’t want to make this dessert?  I think I have to be.  It is not because I didn’t think it would be any good, far from it, I love Boston Cream Pie.  I have heard so much about this dessert in the last year that I actually couldn’t wait until we got to it so I could see for myself what all the fuss was about.   However, now that we are finally poised to make it, I find that I have no desire to do it.  I read through the recipe and it couldn’t be simpler.  A few common ingredients, no gimmicks or silly tricks or hoops for us to jump through.  Just a straight forward recipe and a bit of composition.  Why then do I not want to make this.  I chalked it up to a busy week, a busier weekend and my natural hatred for these individual serving desserts.  It really isn’t that I don’t like the individual servings, it just that they don’t work for my household.  If I have one big dessert, everyone will eat it but when I have a refrigerator filled with these little cups of things or ramekins with custard and the like, no one will go near them.  I don’t know why that is but that is what happens at my house so that is why I hate these kinds of things.  At any rate, I guilted myself into stepping up to the plate and getting my butt into the kitchen.  Somehow, since I signed up for this and agreed to do it, I feel really lousy when I don’t make the assigned dessert, even when it is something I know I won’t like.  So, without any further ado, let’s get into the kitchen and make this thing. 

First, the cupcakes.  I have to admit that once I got one whiff of this heavenly, orange scented batter, I knew I wasn’t going to regret making this.  I have to admit that as much as I despise cupcakes (and I don’t really have to tell any of you faithful readers just how much I hate them) I could have eaten all 12 of these little beauties.  They were so good I couldn’t get over it.  I would definitely make them again, although, it goes without saying that I would just make one single cake layer out of this batter and then sit down and eat the whole thing myself.  Onward… 

In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the dry ingredients until blended and then add the egg yolks, oil, vanilla, orange zest and orange juice and mix on low until moistened.  Increase the mixer speed to medium and beat for one and a half minutes or until the mixture is thick and light in color. 

Combining the wet and dry ingredients

After a minute and a half

Whip the egg whites until foamy, then add the cream of tartar and whip until soft peaks form.  Add the remaining sugar and whip until stiff peaks form. 

Beaten egg whites

Then fold the egg whites into the egg and flour mixture in two additions until fully combined and fluffy.  Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin pan and bake at 325 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes or until done. 

The finished batter

Ready to bake

The baked cupcakes

Next make the pastry cream,  and again, this is something I would just make and eat as it’s own dessert.  It’s that good.  To make it combine milk and cornstarch and mix until smooth.  Whisk in the egg and egg yolks and set aside.  Combine sugar and seeds from a vanilla bean and rub with your fingers.  Add this sugar mixture to the cream and bring to a boil.  While whisking, add about 1/3 cup of the hot cream to the egg mixture and then quickly pour the egg mixture into the rest of the hot cream and whisk constantly while cooking the mixture.  This should take 1 – 3 minutes for the custard to get thick.  Pour the custard into a sieve and work it through the sieve into a bowl with a silicon spatula.  Place a piece of plastic wrap over the custard to prevent a skin from forming and move on to making the chocolate sauce. 

I found the chocolate sauce a bit overpowering but I have to admit here that all I had in the house was 85% chocolate, which I know is very intense.  I was just too busy to take the time to run out and buy 65% chocolate so I used what I had.  Once everything was combined it wasn’t that bad.  To make the sauce, melt the butter and then drop in the chopped chocolate and allow it to melt. Stir until melted and smooth and store in a glass container. 

To compose the dessert, spoon the pastry cream into a serving cup to just about half full.  Place a cupcake, upside down onto the pastry cream and spoon the chocolate sauce over the cupcake.  Then sit back and enjoy. 

  

 

 

 

Next Up:  Swedish Pear and Almond Cream Cake 

