I approached this weeks recipe with great trepidation. Not only because it feels like I haven’t stepped out of my kitchen for the last two weeks but also because it was another of the dreaded mini cakes which everyone knows I loathe intensely.  Well, after reading Marie’s post that these go together quickly and since I had a couple other kitchen tasks to attend to I figured “What the heck, another half hour in the kitchen won’t kill me” and I plunged ahead.  After I got all the mis en place in order I went to prepare the pans.  Well, wouldn’t you know it, I didn’t have the right size pan.  With all my cake rings, quiche pans, tart molds, muffin tins, cupcake pans, pop over pans, ramekins and  english muffin rings I didn’t a single thing that was the right size.  Then I spotted these two 6 inch spring form pans in the back of the cupboard.  These were another one of those purchases that were just too cute not to buy.  Doesn’t matter that they have been sitting in the cupboard for 5 years untouched.  Well, why not, I thought to myself and decided to use them.  As it turns out, the batter was just enough for one of the 6 inch pans and I didn’t have to deal with the tedium of making individual mini cakes.  Marie was absolutely right, these went together in a snap.  I was also very pleasantly surprised by this cake.  Give the genoise reputation for being dry, this one is total bliss.  It is incredibly moist and I would even venture to say that it can stand on its own without its usual syrup.  This one is definitely a keeper.  Shall we bake…

Prepare clarified butter and set aside.  Whisk together eggs, egg yolk and sugar and whisk over simmering water until luke warm, then, using a stand mixer, whip the mixture on high for about 5 minutes until tripled in volume. 

Egg mixture tripled in volume

 Remove half a cup and stir it into the clarified butter.  Sift half the flour over the egg mixture and fold in gently, then fold in the remaining flour.  Fold in the butter mixture and vanilla.  Pour into prepared cake pan(s) and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. 

Ready to bake

The baked genoise

Immediately unmold the cake and allow to cool completely.

The unmolded genoise

Make an ordinary sugar syrup and flavor with your choice of liqueur or vanilla.  I used Apricot brandy.  Make the apricot glaze by combining apricot preserves and your choice of liqueur, again I used Apricot brandy, and heat until melted, then strain and set aside.

To make the chocolate filling, combine cream and chocolate and heat until the chocolate is melted.  Stir to fully combine.  Combine egg yolk, sugar and salt and whisk to combine.  Add a small amount of the melted chocolate and stir to temper the eggs, then gradually add the rest of the chocolate.  Cook, stirring constantly until just before the boiling point, strain the mixture and stir in the vanilla.

Since I used the springform pan, I cut a one quarter deep circle in the center of the genoise, then brush the cake with the syrup and then with the apricot glaze.  Pour the chocolate cream filling into the center cavity, cover and allow the chocolate to set.

Center cavity ready to be filled

To make the chocolate drizzle, combine chocolate and cream and heat until melted, stir to fully combine.  Place the completed cake on a serving plate and drizzle with the chocolate syrup.  This is total bliss.  And, I have to say, make this in the six inch pan and you have the perfect Valentines dessert for two.   A word of caution on the chocolate drizzle.  By all means follow Rose’s instructions and use the pastry bag.  I was trying to save time and I used one of those plastic squeeze bottles for applying sauces.  As you can see the results were less than spectacular.  The opening on the bottle is too thin to apply a nice drizzle and there really isn’t enough of the drizzle in this instance for it to flow evenly out of the bottle without getting air pockets.  Take the time and use the pastry bag.  Inspite of it’s minor cosmetic defect, this was delicious.

Enjoy!

Next Up: White Velvet Cake with Milk Chocolate Ganache

