I’m probably going to get a lot of flak for saying this but this cake is a total rip off.  I spent my whole day off on Friday driving all over town trying to locate quail eggs.  We have not only Chinese but Korean, Vietnamese,  Thai and Philippine neighborhoods here and I had the worst time finding these eggs.  I would call all over to looking for them and be told they had them only to arrive at the store to find that what they actually had were duck eggs. I am not kidding, I spent all day trying to find these eggs.  When I finally located some, I couldn’t believe the horrendously high price I had to pay for them.  These eggs were $3.00 a piece.  $15.00 just for eggs to make a 5 inch cake.  I am not opposed to spending alot of money on a good quality product as it produces a good quality finished product, but, this was a ridiculous amount of money to pay for such a mediocre, bland tasting finished product.  I set about to bake the cake and I was truly disappointed to end up with this puny little mediocre cake.  It tastes no different than the countless other butter and egg cakes that we have made many times before. Not to mention the special 5 inch heart pan that the recipe calls for.  I wouldn’t even waste my time trying to find that thing.  When would you ever use it again? The cake ended up looking like an oversized English muffin and didn’t even taste half as good as one.   Indulgence is hardly the word I would use to describe this cake, madness is the word that comes to mind for me.   I considered it an act of insanity on my part that I wasted so much time and trouble to even bother to make it. I imagine that the heart shaped pan was supposed to indicate that this would be a good Valentines day dessert for two.  Well, I hardly think that this cake would elicit any sort of romance.   I was truly disappointed in this cake.  I made it on Saturday morning and when we ate it at dinner it was hard and dry.  We literally took one bite and tossed the whole thing into the trash.   Trust me, just make your favorite genoise cake, flavor it to your liking and serve it.  Your time and effort, not to mention your wallet, will be better rewarded.  If you truly feel the need for an indulgence, then go to your favorite bistro or coffee shop and order a special dessert, your money will be better spent.  Needless to say, I will never make this cake again.  I truly felt like just tearing this page right out of the book.

Making the cake is easy.  Combine egg yolks, vanilla and 1 tablespoon cream and set aside.  In the bowl of a stand mixer combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt and blend to combine.  Add the butter and remaining cream and blend until the dry ingredients are moistened. Raise the speed to medium high and beat for one and a half minutes.  Add the egg mixture in two additions beating between each addition. Scrape the batter into a prepared pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until done.  Set the cake on a rack and cool for 10 minutes.  Unmold onto a rack, then reinvert the cake so the top side is up.  Cool completely.

Next Up: Free Choice

