For this weeks free choice I wanted a simple snack type cake to have on hand for lunches and afternoon snacking. This cake fit that bill to a tee.  At first I was going to just make it in a round pan, split it and fill it with the lemon curd and berries and serve it as a shortcake type cake but while reading through the recipe a second time I noticed that Rose also recommends using a tube pan for it and I thought it was a perfect opportunity to use my favorite tube pan again.  That is what I did. I just made it as a simple bundt cake and served it with curd and berries or just slice off a piece and eat it out of hand with a tall glass of cold milk.  Great for taking off the hunger pangs after work.  The cake is simple but redolent with butter and vanilla and it just doesn’t get any more basic or better than that.  It’s also a nice foil for a variety of fillings if you chose to go that route.  I can feel the old wheels turning and will definitely be making this simple cake in a variety of ways.  Let’s bake.

This is another one of Rose’s really simple cakes. The mis en place is actually the most work involved.  I gathered everything together the night before I wanted to bake and I was literally in and out of the kitchen in 15 minutes the next morning and free to go about my chores while the cake baked.  It just doesn’t get any easier than that.

In a small bowl, blend the egg yolks, 1/4 cup of the milk and the vanilla and set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt and mix to combine thoroughly.  Add the butter and the rest of the milk and blend until moistened, then raise the speed to medium and blend for one and a half minutes. 

Butter and Milk incorporated

Adding the eggs

 With the mixer on low add the egg yolk mixer in two additions blending about 30 seconds between each addition.  Raise the speed to medium and blend for another 30 seconds.  Scrape the batter into the prepared pan. 

The finished batter

Ready to bake

 Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes or until done.

The baked cake

Cool on a rack for ten minutes and then unmold the cake onto a rack and cool completely.  That’s it.  Simple and very satisfying. 

 Enjoy.

Next Up:  Orange-Glow Chiffon Layer Cake

