Since I missed baking last week I was going to do the Coconut Cake but that idea was received with a resounding NO, since no one here is especially fond of coconut.  I have to admit that I have a revulsion to Red Velvet cake and the only reason for it is the red color.  It just looks like something you shouldn’t eat.  Also, with the resurgence of Red Velvet cake over the past few years the few times I have sampled it, it always seems to be too sweet or have that medicinal taste from the food coloring.  Maybe it is just my imagination since just about everyone else seems to love this cake.  When I was a kid, my mom used to make Waldorf Red Velvet cake.  Her’s was a big two layer creation with loads of white frosting which was  made with a cooked mixture of milk and cornstarch which was cooled and then added to creamed butter and sugar and whipped up to the consistency of whipped cream.  To be honest, I can’t remember what it tasted like since it, along with my aunts Mazola Oil cake were the few cakes I would not eat.  This cake calls for 1/4 cup of red food coloring which to me is just wrong.   I still have the recipe and one of these days I will get up the courage to make it and actually taste it.  At any rate, I did break down and make this red velvet cake and I have to admit it isn’t half bad, although the nauseous red color still puts me right off.  I was also surprised that it only uses 1 teaspoon of cocoa.  I was always under the impression that these cakes used more cocoa.  When I checked my mom’s recipe, it only uses 2 teaspoons of cocoa so I guess I have been wrong all these years.  Well, in to the kitchen and let’s bake this cake.

Again, this is a simple cake that goes together in no time flat.  In a small bowl combine egg whites, red food color and vanilla and lightly combine and set aside.

In the medium bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder, cocoa and salt, whisk to combine and set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, using a flat beater, beat together butter and oil for about one minute. 

Mixing butter and oil

 Add the flour mixture and buttermilk and beat until the dry ingredients are moistened. 

Adding dry ingredients and buttermilk

Increase the speed to medium high and beat for 1 1/2 minutes.  With the mixer on low, gradually add the egg mixture in two additions, beating about 30 seconds between additions. 

Adding egg whites and food color

Scrape the batter into a prepared 9×2 inch cake pan and bake at 350 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes or until done.

Ready to bake

Cool the cake on a rack for 10 minutes, then unmold the cake and reinvert it onto a rack so the top side is up.  Cool completely and frost.

The cooled cake

To make the frosting,  melt white chocolate and set aside until no longer warm but still fluid. In a food processor, process the cream cheese, butter and creme fraiche until smooth.  Add the cooled white chocolate and pulse until it is combined.  Add the almond extract and pulse to combine.  Frost cooled cake.

Enjoy!

Next Up:  Free Choice

