I have to admit, we are not big breakfast eaters in my house.  Usually toast and coffee or cereal is about all we get around to in the morning, but when I saw this recipe I knew we were in for a special treat and I wasn’t disappointed.

The recipe is simple and easy to prepare.   The entire thing can be done the night before and refrigerated and then just heated in the oven in the morning before serving so you don’t need to slave over the stove on Sunday morning making a fancy breakfast.

These are made using a standard crepe batter of eggs, flour, milk and water all tossed into the food processor and blended until smooth.  Then the batter is left in the refrigerator for a few hours to rest.  When ready to cook the crepes, stir the batter to emulsify the ingredients.  Film a 6-7 inch saute or crepe pan with butter and pour about 1/4 cup batter into the pan and swirl it around to coat the bottom of the pan.  Cook over medium high heat until the top appears dry and the bottom is lightly browned.  The recipe calls for filming the pan with butter between each crepe but I didn’t find that necessary.  I had no sticking problems at all.  Maybe it’s my pan, maybe I have just made way too many crepes and am used to the process.  You can do whatever works for you.  Stack the cooked crepes on a plate between layers of waxed paper and allow to cool.  At this point the crepes can be refrigerated to assemble later or frozen.  I allowed mine to cool and them assembled the blintzes.

The finished crepe batterCooking the crepesCompleted crepes

The filling is a cheese mixture, I used Fresh Ricotta Cheese , lemon zest, sugar, vanilla and an egg as called for in the recipe.  Place about 1 to 1/2 tablespoons of the filling on the crepe, fold the bottom up, then fold the sides in and press to flatten and seal them, then roll them to make a rectangluar blintz.   Since I was going to bake mine the following morning, I placed the filled blintzes in a generously buttered baking dish and covered them with plastic wrap and stored them in the refrigerator.

The assembled blintzes

The next morning, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees and baked them for about 8 minutes, then turned them and returned them to the oven for another 10 minutes.

These can be served with any favorite fruit, preserve or jelly.  I had just gotten some wonderful peaches at the farmers market so I sliced them and sauteed them in a little butter to make sort of a fresh peach preserve and spooned it over them.  Heavenly.  These may just make breakfast eaters out of all of us.

