sideI will be perfectly honest, I have absolutely no idea whether I made these correctly or not.  The recipe states to make sure the butter and sugar are well combined.  Mine seemed to be.  It also says to knead the dough to make sure that there are no visible pieces of butter as they will form holes when the cookies are baked.  I did this and saw no butter.  When my cookies were baked they were loaded with small holes.  The recipe says to bake for 5 minutes, rotate the pan and continue for another 5 – 10 minutes.  I only baked mine for 8 minutes total and they seemed to be way too brown, not just around edges.  I made a second batch just to be sure and they turned out exactly as the first batch.  So, did I or didn’t I goof?

single

With all that being said, I thought these we perfectly lovely and delicious.  Mine were very thin and lacy in the manner of a Florentine.  They were light and crispy and totally appealing to me.  I didn’t think they were at all sweet (which very much appealed to me).  So many cookies seem to be so heavy and cloyingly sweet that these were a very welcome change.  I loved the delicate nuttiness with just a hint of sweetness and then that intense burst of coffee flavor which almost bordered on the bitter side.  I found them a total delight.  To top it all off they are as simple to make as can be (aside from the unavoidable rolling balls and flattening business).

The food processor makes quick work of this simple dough.  Toasted almonds, flour, espresso powder, baking powder and salt are processed until the nuts are finely ground.  Set this aside and process the sugar and butter until well creamed, add the vanilla and then the flour/nut mixture and pulse until combined.  That is all there is too it.  A few minutes work and the dough is assembled.

ballsreadytobaketopRoll teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, place on a cookie sheet and flatten.  Bake until they are still slightly soft and just beginning to brown.  Transfer to a cooling rack and dust with espresso powder.  Voila

My end result were about the most least attractive cookie you could imagine but I found them very edible.  So whether you goof with these or not the end result is very good.

