TopWhat’s not to like about pie? Absolutely nothing. I admit that I don’t care for meringue on my pies but it is easy enough to scrap it off and get to the good stuff.

This pie is simply delicious. I can’t think of anything else to say about it. What could be more simple and more taste tempting than blackberries, which I adore, and blueberries. Since here in San Diego you practically have to mortgage your house to buy enough berries to make a pie, I took Rose’s suggestion and used frozen berries. I also added just a bit more than the recipe calls for because too much of a good thing is.. well.. good.

Rolled dough circle

Rolled dough circle

I have always shied away from making pastry in the food processor because I do have a tendency to over mix my dough that way. However, since it finally dawned on me that my food processor came with a pastry blade for a reason and once I started using it, I find that I can now produce the “resembles coarse meal” texture easily and without over mixing. I had my doubts about this dough when I put it into the refrigerator as it seemed very soft and I imagined it being a nightmare to roll out. Well, I was totally wrong. After an hours rest in the refrigerator this dough rolled out like a dream. No sticking, tearing or cracking and it went right into the pie pan without a single hitch. And I am totally in love with Rose for giving us the single most helpful hint in all bake-dome. Cutting out the circle of dough before lining the pan. This is the second time in a few weeks that we have used this trick and it is by far the greatest tip I have gotten in years. It makes the whole process so easy and it only takes a few seconds.

Bottom lined pie pan

Bottom lined pie pan

The filling is so simple, just toss the fruit with sugar, corn starch, lemon zest and juice and into the lined pan and then into the waiting oven. Too easy and way too good. Seconds (and thirds) please.

Filled pie shell

Filled pie shell

Pie ready to be baked

Pie ready to be baked

My only complaint (which has nothing to do with the recipe) was that the pie pan I used this time didn’t have a wide enough edge and my pie shield rested on the crust instead of the pan and it totally flattened my fluted edge.  This was merely a matter of aesthetics so no harm done.  Besides, the beauty and charm of a pie is that they look totally homemade.

bakedtop

bakedside

