CoffeeTopWhile I am not much of a cookie aficionado I am a huge fan of ginger.  I found these cookies to be fantastic.  Just the right amount of ginger.  While some gingersnaps can overpower you with the ginger bite, these had just the right amount.  You get the full ginger flavor with the slight tang that lingers on the tongue but you don’t get that ginger bite that can sometimes happen with gingersnaps.

I finally decided to bite the bullet and order golden syrup and the golden bakers sugar.   As luck would have it, both were on back order and didn’t arrive on time so I used Rose’s substitute of caster and brown sugar which worked fine.  I also used dark corn syrup instead of light in place of the golden syrup and found that it worked out perfectly.

CoffeesideThe recipe is simple and goes together in a snap and while one batch is in the oven you can easily get the next batch ready so as one batch comes out the next goes in and in a matter of a few minutes the whole recipe is baked and cooling.  While I generally hate the whole ball rolling tedium this dough is stiff enough to make that process quick and easy and they actually hold their shape.  I generally have a tendency to over bake cookies so I only baked these for 10 minutes.  They turned a nice even golden brown and tested done.  Once cooled they crisped up on the outside while remaining moist and chewy on the inside.  I prefer my cookies to be chewy instead of those hard dry disks you get with store bought gingersnaps.  My other half said that while the flavor was spot on, he would have preferred them to be a bit crisper so I made a second batch and baked them for 12 minutes.  He proclaimed them perfect.  They did get a bit crisper but still remained chewy so everyone was happy.

To start, heat the butter and syrup until the butter is melted.  Set it aside to cool while sifting together the flour, baking powder, soda, sugar and ginger.  With the mixer on low,  add the cooled butter mixture until the dry ingredients are moistened, then add the egg and egg white and mix until the dough comes together.  Divide the dough into thirds, wrap in plastic wrap and chill for at least 30 minutes.  Roll the first batch of cookies and bake.  While these are baking, roll the second batch and so on until the entire recipe is baked.  Cool the cookies on a wire rack and then indulge.  So easy and so good.

Butter and syrup mixture

Butter and syrup mixture

Dry Ingredients

Dry Ingredients

Adding the butter/syrup mixture

Adding the butter/syrup mixture

Completed dough

Completed dough

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

Baked cookies

Baked cookies

Rose, you may just turn me into a cookie lover after all.

 

