grouptopI line up for anything with lemon in it.  Add beurre noisette to it and I can’t get enough.  I admit that I am not much for individual desserts.  Being that there are only two of us at my house and my partner is not much of a dessert eater. Individual desserts seem to just sit around and get stale.   I usually bring my baked goods to work and when I only have 6 then there isn’t enough for everyone.  I am thinking of trying to make these as just one small cake.

singlesideThe cake base for these is just delightful.  So often these cake bases are bland and rely on the fillings and toppings for their flavor, but not so here.  The beurre noisette adds wonderful richness to the cake so that it can easily stand on its own as a snack or tea cake.  Of course the lemon possett is the star of the show here and it does not disappoint.  Simple to make and full of lemon flavor, it too could stand on its own as a spoon dessert.  As so often happens, you see things at the market and file it away and when you need that item it is no where to be found.  That happened with the Meyer Lemons.  I have been seeing them at the store and when I went to get them, no one had them.  I used regular lemons for my possett and found that it was delicious.  No apologies here, it was great with or without he Meyers.

Making the beurre noisette

Making the beurre noisette

Egg foam

Egg foam

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

Baked shortcake

Baked shortcake

While each of the individual components were simple and quick to make, I did find the assembly of this dessert to be rather fidgety and fussy for my taste.  All the glazing and waiting and resting really began to try my patience after awhile.  That being said the final product is certainly worth the fussy effort and these are perfect for a dinner party dessert.

top

