topI have to admit that I wasn’t thrilled when I saw we were doing cookies again.  Once I saw that they had poppy seeds and lekvar in them I decided to forgo the usual griping about cookies and get down to it.

single servvingThe dough goes together very quickly in the food processor and in a matter of minutes it was ready and in the refrigerator for its rest.  I started in on the poppy seed filling which was nothing more than heating milk and stirring in the other ingredients and letting it cool.  Needless to say the egg glaze was also a simple matter of mixing egg yolks and milk and straining.

After its rest, the dough is rolled out and cut into 3 inch circles.  I found the dough to be very easy to roll and cut and it didn’t give me any trouble at all.  The poppy seed filling is mounded into the center and then the corners are pinched to form a cute tricorn shape.  The cookies are glazed and chilled and then baked.  I had no problems with any of the steps for assembling the cookies.

disksfillingready to bakeWith all that being said, I have to say that I wasn’t enamored with these cookies.  They had a nice, light texture but I found the filling to be somewhat dry and the cookies overall were somewhat bland.  Maybe a bit more lekvar in the filling would have helped.  I think if I do these again I will go with the apricot filling instead of the poppy seeds.

Serving

