IMG_4865I love anything lemon so I was almost looking forward to making these.  Now it is no secret t  at I hate cookies, I don’t like making them and I am not even all that fond of eating them.  It has also become apparent that I have found most of the cookies we have made so far to be  pretty good.  With all that being said, Rose, I beg you, Please, please, pretty please, pretty please with sugar on top.  For your next book, skip the cookie chapter.  It may just be me but it sure seems like we have made an awful lot of cookies in the short time we have been baking together and frankly, I am really getting sick of them.  Maybe we can have a cookieless month and bake anything in the book that isn’t a cookie.  That would make me very happy.  Okay, enough griping, on to the recipe.

This was a very easy recipe and very similar to alot of the cookies we have already baked.  Sugar, salt and lemon zest are processed to combine and then the egg and vanilla are added and processed to combine.  The flour is pulsed in just until the mixture begins to come together.  The dough is scraped onto plastic wrap and kneaded slightly to bring it together.  It is then divided into thirds, wrapped and chilled.

Completed Dough

Completed Dough

After chilling, the dough is rolled and cut and the cookies are baked.  This was very simple and the cookies bake quickly so the whole process takes no longer than an hour not counting the chilling time.

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

Completed cookies

Completed cookies

I thought I has some lemon curd on hand as I usually keep it around.  When I went to get it out I found that it was gone.  Someone around here has been raiding my pantry.  I decided to make the lemon buttercream.  Now, I don’t know about anyone else but Rose’s buttercreams are the one area that I always get into trouble.  They always either separate, cuddle or remain so soft that I can’t spread them on the sides of cakes.  This one was no exception.  It started out well and all was going fine until I added the lemon juice.  Then it started separating.  The recipe says that this will happen.  I continued beating for about 5 minutes and it would never come together.  I finally added a few more tablespoons of butter and it miraculously came together and was fine and tasted delicious.

Buttercream

Buttercream

To finish the cookies, spread the buttercream on the cookie base and add the cutout top.  Then dig in and enjoy.  These cookies were light and very lemony and worth the effort to make.  If you really have to make cookies, these are a great choice.

IMG_4858IMG_4866

