TopSliceI was a very spoiled child and a total mamma’s boy.  In other words, I was a total brat.  Growing up I had a many food foibles and a huge list of foods that I absolutely would not touch.  I wouldn’t eat eggs, mayonnaise, seafood of any kind, pork, zucchini, peppers, condiments (except mustard), cheese (except for Kraft slices) and numerous others.  Luckily that list has now shrunk to just a handful of foods that I will not eat.  I also hated foods that were wet and I truly detested having my foods touch.  Come dinner time I would sit down to a pile of small plates.  My meat had to be cooked well done and every trace of fat had to be removed before I would even consider touching it.  The only things that could be in my school lunch were bologna and mustard sandwiches or peanut butter and jelly.  There were actually times when if I found something else in my lunch I would bring it back home as a reminder that it was on the “not to be eaten” list.  My mother was a total saint to put up with such a fussy kid and such a picky eater.  Thank goodness my food world has expanded to include many of the forbidden foods from my childhood.   So what does all of this have to do with this pie?  Well, rhubarb to be exact.  I never actually encountered rhubarb until my 20’s.  My father absolutely detested it so I don’t think I ever laid eyes on it until I was in my teens.  I had also heard rumors when I was young that it was poisonous so naturally it went on the list.  I have never actually eaten it as a vegetable, only in pies, usually strawberry, so when I saw this recipe it brought back a lot of unrelated childhood memories.  Okay, enough about my food foibles, on to the pie.

Once again we are using my new favorite pie crust recipe so I won’t go into that again.  Suffice it to say, I love this pie crust.

Rolled dough circle

Rolled dough circle

Lined Pie Plate

Lined Pie Plate

As I have said, I usually associate rhubarb in a pie with strawberries, so I found this combination a bit strange.

The filling is very easy.  Wash the blueberries and drain them.  Wash the rhubarb, cut it into 1/2 inch pieces.  Combine sugar, cornstarch, lemon zest and water, then add the fruit and allow to macerate for at least 15 minutes.  Bring the mixture to a boil stirring constantly, then simmer for about 1 minute.  Pour the mixture into a bowl and set aside to cool.

Completed pie filling

Completed pie filling

When cool, pour the mixture into the lined pie plate, weave the pastry strips on top and chill the pie for at least 30 minutes.

Filled Shell

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

Preheat the oven and bake the pie on a baking stone for 15 minutes, rotate and continue baking for at least another 15 minutes or until the pie is bubbling.

Just out of the oven

Just out of the oven

Out of the ovenCool on a rack.  I found the pie to be very tasty.  It had just the right amount of juiciness.  Not too sweet and not too tart.  It suited my taste perfectly.  I do have to admit here that to my palette, it really just tasted like a blueberry pie, a very good blueberry pie, but blueberry just the same.  This is by no means a bad thing.  It does however, make me want to ask, why bother with the rhubarb in the first place?  Just my humble opinion.

SliceTop

