TopI have had this cake on my “to do” list for what seems like ages. Considering how easy it is to make and how good it is, I can’t believe I waited this long to finally getting around to making it.  This is from Dorie Greenspans book “Baking, From my home to yours”.  I have had this book on my shelf since it was first published but have only gotten around to making a few of the recipes.  This one has certainly been high on my list for some time and I am glad I finally got to make it as it is a wonderful and very easy cake.

TopSideI love bananas and banana cake has always been one of my all time favorites.  This is the classic have on hand snack cake.  With just a few pantry staples you can have this cake in the oven in under 30 minutes.

Creamed butter and sugar

Creamed butter and sugar

Completed Batter

Completed Batter

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

Flour, baking soda and salt are whisked together and set aside.  Next, butter is beaten in the bowl of a stand mixer until creamy and then sugar is beaten in until light and fluffy. Vanilla is added and then eggs, one at a time, and beaten until combined.  Bananas are added and mixed until blended.  Half of the flour mixture is added and then sour cream.  Blend to combine, then add the rest of the flour mixture.  Scrape the batter into a prepared 10 cup bundt pan and bake at 350 degrees until done. (About 65 minutes).  Cool the cake for 10 minutes and then unmold and cool completely.  The cake can be eaten right away or wrapped in plastic wrap and allowed to sit for a day to meld and mellow the flavors.  This cake will last at room temperature for about 5 days but it certainly won’t stay around that long.  This is definitely one of the best banana cakes I have eaten.

BakedSide

 

