IMG_5007Once again venturing into Dorie Greenspans book “Baking”, I came across this recipe for a simple bundt cake.  Actually, I have seen this recipe many times but never stopped to read through it.  Once I did I was intrigued by the addition of pears and prunes.  I decided it was time to finally try it.  I didn’t have prunes on hand so I substituted currants as they are a favorite around my house.  It also calls for hazlenuts or walnuts as optional ingredients.  I opted for the hazelnuts.

IMG_4991Grind the nuts and then whisk together with flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda.  In a stand mixer beat together butter and brown sugar until fluffy, then one at a time add eggs.  Beat in vanilla and almond extract (if using nuts) and then alternating in three additions add the flour mixture and buttermilk, beginning and ending with the flour mixture.  Scrape the batter into a prepared 10 – 12 bundt pan and bake for 60 minutes or until done.  Cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then unmold and cool completely.  Dust with confectioners sugar before serving.

IMG_4993IMG_4999IMG_5001

This is a wonderful moist cake to have on hand for snacking.  The pears add moistness and a subtle overtone to the intense brown sugar cake.  I admit to having a thing for eating cake batter.  I have never been able to resist it and this was no exception.  After tasting it I have to wonder that this would be a wonderfully satisfying cake without the addition of the fruits.  This is a winner in my book.

IMG_5010

 

