IMG_5058IMG_5050I wanted to use my brioche mold but I also wanted to make brioche nanterre which I like for making french toast and bread pudding.  As my brioche mold is rather large I needed to double the recipe in order to have enough to make all that I wanted.

As I have stated before, it took me a long time to warm up to brioche.  It was just always too eggy for my taste.  Even when we are in France I tend to shy away from it because of that egginess.  This recipe for some reason does not have that eggy aftertaste so in the past few years I have become a brioche convert.

We have made this recipe before for other things so I won’t go into all the details here.  It is an easy recipe.  The only things you need to contend with are the long wait times and the stickiness of the dough which makes it a bit difficult to work with.  As the dough is supposed to be light and airy you don’t want to add too much extra flour when working with it.  I have found the easier way to contend with it is to just make sure it is always kept as cold as possible and when flour is needed I just flour my hands instead of the bench or the dough and I never seem to have any trouble with it.

Starter

Starter

Dough with eggs

Dough with eggs

Dough with butter

Dough with butter

First proof complete

First proof complete

My original plan was to use my brioche mold to make a to make a traditional brioche à tête but once I started shaping and then after I proofed the loaf I could see that my dough was a bit too soft this time around for it to hold the shape so I just let it do what it wanted to do and baked it as usual.  Although I didn’t get the traditional shape I was very pleased with both the taste and texture of the bread so it was of little concern that it didn’t look like a traditional brioche.  No worries.

Tete loaf formed

Tete loaf formed

Nanterre loaf formed

Nanterre loaf formed

Tete proofed, the tete is starting to colapes

Tete proofed, the tete is starting to colapse

Nanterre loaf proofed

Nanterre loaf proofed

Baked tete

Baked tete

Baked nanterre

Baked nanterre

IMG_5057

