IMG_5206Even though I spend so much time in the kitchen it seems like ages since I actually baked anything other than week night dinners.  I got enthralled watching old episodes of the French Chef the past few weeks and I have really been in the mood to make something rather classic.  When I watched the episode on Chocolate Mousse I knew that was what I wanted to make but with a twist.  The recipe for the mousse from the episode is in the book From Julia Childs Kitchen.  I have actually made this recipe many times but on the show Julia did a version of it that was molded and frozen and that was the twist I was looking for.  The variation is also in the book following the recipe.

I decided to make my own ladyfingers to line the charlotte mold and my go to recipe for these is always Alice Medrich’s version from her wonderful book Cocolat.

The lady fingers are easy.  Just beat egg yolks and sugar until they are thick.  Beat egg whites to stiff peaks.  Stir in a bit of the egg whites to lighten the mixture, then fold in the egg whites and flour in two additions. Pipe the ladyfingers, dust with confectioners sugar and bake.

I was not happy however, that I bought a brand new piping bag and when I started to pipe the ladyfingers I found that the seam was split and was leaking all over my hand.  It sort of messed up my piping but I was committed by the time I noticed it.  They came out fine although a bit wide but since they were lining the mold it all worked out.

IMG_5193The mousse is also easy but does require a bit of prep as you need to move quickly through it.

IMG_5195Make a sugar syrup with sugar and strong coffee.  Melt chocolate with rum and keep warm.  Next, beat the egg yolks until they are thick, then beat in the sugar syrup to combine and them beat the egg yolk mixture over a pan of simmering water until it is thick and hot to the touch.  Then beat this hot mixture on the electric mixer until it is cool.  Whip the egg whites to stiff peaks and fold them quickly into the egg yolk/chocolate mixture.  The mousse is complete at this point and can be chilled and served as is or used as a component of another dessert.

IMG_5198IMG_5203IMG_5204

