IMG_5219

The peaches have been arriving in the markets the past few weeks and I just had to make something with them.  As I have said many times, peaches are my absolute favorite fruit and while I love eating them out of hand or in smoothies I think the cry out to be made into wonderful baked goods.

IMG_5223I found this recipe in an old Victoria magazine cookbook that was on my shelf and neglected for several years.  As soon as I saw it I knew I wanted to make it.

The recipe is simplicity itself.  The crust is nothing more than flour, sugar, butter and ground almonds.  It goes together in minutes and then has a rest in the refrigerator before being rolled out, fitted into the crust, rested again and then blind baked for 15 minutes.

IMG_5223While the crust is baking, you can get on with the filling which is even more simple than the crust. Sliced peaches are tossed with fresh orange juice, sugar, and cornstarch and a bit of almond extract and left to macerate for about 30 minutes. When the crust is cooled the peaches are layered into the crust in concentric circles, the juices drizzled over them.  Then the whole tart is dusted with a bit more sugar, dotted with butter and a handful of sliced almonds and baked for about 45 minutes.

The result is a light, crispy crust with a moist filling of ripe, rich peaches and just enough thickened juices to hold it all together and accented with the crunch of almonds.  Easy and wonderful for a summer afternoon.

IMG_5218

