IMG_5467 I was organizing one of my bookcases when I came across an old folder tucked behind the books.  It was filled with recipes clipped out of magazines that I guess I was going to enter into my recipe database and never got around too.  These were fairly old recipes and some of the magazines don’t even exist anymore so I was intrigued to go through them.  Wow, I found some really nice recipes amongst the clippings and I can understand why I cut them out and kept them.  If only I had found them earlier.  I found several pound cake recipes in the pile and as everyone knows, pound cake is an all time favorite of mine so I decided to make a couple of them this weekend.  This one is a nice basic pound cake with the richness and slight tang of cream cheese.  According to the clipping it is from the January 1995 issue of Bon Appetit magazine.

IMG_5471It is a cold oven pound cake meaning that it goes into a cold oven and the temperature is gradually increased throughout the baking time.  It does have a long baking time (1 hour 40 minutes) but the cake goes together very quickly and as long as you have a timer with a bell loud enough to hear throughout the house you don’t have to be chained to the oven to keep watch on it. Recipe follows:

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 8-ounce package cream cheese, room temperature
3 cups sugar
1 teaspoon salt
6 large eggs, room temperature
4 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups sifted all purpose flour.

Butter and flour a 12-cup Bunch pan. Using electric mixer, beat butter and cream cheese in large bowl until fluffy, about 4 minutes. Add sugar and salt; beat 10 minutes, occasionally scraping down sides of bowl. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating until blended after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Beat in flour at low speed until batter is smooth (do not overbeat). Transfer batter to pan.
Place pan in cold oven. Set temperature at 200°F; bake 20 minutes. Increase temperature to 250’F-, bake 20 minutes increase to 275°F bake 10 minutes Increase to 300°F, bake cake until tester inserted near center of cake comes out clean, about 1 hour. Cool cake in pan about 15 minutes.  Turn cake out onto a rack and cool completely.  Wrap and store at room temperature

IMG_5465IMG_5463

