img_5812I have recently started following Sweet Paul’s blog and subscribed to his emagazine.  It is a wonderful site filled with great recipes, articles and decorating ideas.  I am especially drawn to his cake recipes and this one caught my eye.

img_5815Everyone knows I love banana cake so anytime I see any sort of cake recipe that uses bananas I have to try it.  It is a really easy cake to make.  I don’t think it even took me 20 minutes to prepare the batter and have it in the oven.  The nutty topping only takes a few minutes to put together and once it is baked onto the cake it forms the cakes homestyle decoration.  While walnuts are certainly my go to choice for a banana cake you can certainly vary the nuts to suit your own taste.  In the picture of the cake on Sweet Pauls blog, it looks to me like whole almonds were used even though the recipe calls for chopped nuts.  You could even add different flavorings to the topping such as rum, whiskey, bourbon.

img_5816This recipe calls for soft toffees which I have to admit I wasn’t really sure what they were.  I have always thought of toffee as a rather hard candy.  I didn’t have much luck finding anything online so I just substituted soft caramels. (when I read Pauls recipe, people who made this cake also commented that they just used caramels here).  The cake reminds me of a sticky toffee pudding.  In all honesty, you can skip the candies altogether and the cake will still be delicious.

Banana and Toffee Cake (from Sweet Paul)

Serves 12

You will need:
butter
flourFor the cake:
3 large ripe bananas
1 3/4 sticks butter, room temperature (this comes out to 7oz)
1 1/4 cups dark brown sugar
3 eggs
13⁄4 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
7 oz soft toffees, cubedFor the topping:
1 stick butter
3 1/2 oz chopped walnuts
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons all purpose flour
2 tablespoons cream or milk
  1. Preheat the oven to 370°F.
  2. Butter and flour a 10” loose base cake tin.
  3. Mash the bananas using a fork. Beat the butter and sugar.
  4. Add the eggs 1 at a time, beating on high speed.
  5. Combine the dry ingredients and the toffees.
  6. Fold the flour mixture into the batter, alternating with the banana mash.
  7. Pour into the tin and bake on the lowest rack of the oven for about 45 minutes.
  8. For the topping, measure all ingredients into a pan and stir.
  9. Cook for a few minutes. Spoon the mixture onto the prebaked cake.
  10. Keep baking for about 10 minutes or until the cake is baked through.
  11. Check with a stick. If the top of the cake is brown but the cake is still underbaked, cover with tin foil.
  12. Before inverting it, let the cake rest for about 15 minutes in the tin.
  13. Leave the tin over the cake in order to keep the cake moist.
  14. Serve as such or with vanilla ice cream.
