Well, it has finally happened.  I have abandoned my long time hatred of specialty pans and fallen under the spell of my dearest friend Jill, the Queen of Bundt Cakes and avid collector of bundt pans.  While I have been making my share of bundt cakes lately and really enjoying them, I have steadfastly stuck to my rule of not buying specialty pans.   I have used only my old fashioned original bundt pan and my favorite Heritage bundt pan.   Last weekend while rummaging through the used book stores I came across a small book called Bundt Cake Bliss by Susanna Short.  I flipped through it, saw that it had a nice selection of cakes which could be easily made with common ingredients that I always have on hand.  The book was only a few dollars so I tossed it on my pile and brought it home.  Once I had a chance to really look through it and compile a list of the recipes I wanted to try I started thinking about Jills pantry cupboard and all her bundt pans neatly lined up and I started envying her for her collection.  Then it dawned on me that I had a couple of Amazon gift cards in my drawer and off I went to check out which pans I could get for my gift cards.  I decided on the Bundt Sqaured pan and the Bavaria pan.  I used the Bavaria pan here and I am very pleased with the results.

This was a very easy cake to put together and as I have often said, pound cake is my favorite.  This one has the usual pound cake texture with the added benefit of a ribbon of apricot preserves in the center.  I am sure you could easily substitute whatever flavor you wanted.  Just leave out the almond extract or change that to go with whatever flavor of preserves you want.  Have fun.

Apricot Almond Pound Cake

CAKE

2 1/2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon almond extract
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup apricot preserves

GLAZE

1/2 cup apricot preserves
Juice of half a lemon
1/2 cup water

 

Preheat oven to 350°F. Prepare a 12-cup Bundt pan using butter and flour or Baker’s Joy and set aside.

Combine dry ingredients and set aside. Beat the butter for several seconds in a large mixing bowl. Add the sugar and beat until smooth. Add the eggs and almond extract and beat for 2 to 3 minutes or until light and fluffy. Add the flour mixture and beat until smooth. Add the sour cream and mix well. In a small bowl, whip 1/2 cup of the apricot preserves until light and the larger pieces of apricot have been broken into smaller bits.

Pour half of the batter into the prepared pan. Spoon the preserves into the center taking care that the preserves don’t touch the sides of the pan. Spoon the remaining batter on top, being sure to completely envelope the preserves.

Bake for 50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out of the cake clean. Let it cool in the pan for 10 minutes, and then turn onto a serving plate.

To prepare the glaze, combine in a small saucepan the remaining 1/2 cup of apricot preserves, the lemon juice, and water. Bring to a boil and beat until combined and the larger apricot pieces of have broken into smaller bits. The glaze should be slightly thickened, but thin enough to pour. If it is too thick, add more water. If it is too thin, cook longer.

Spoon or brush the glaze over the hot cake, taking care to cover it thoroughly.

