We are Francophiles in my house.  I adore just about anything French.  My other half was a French teacher and when you are exposed to that day after day something is bound to rub off.  I was bitten early on and I fell hook, line and sinker for all things French and it has been that way for the past 20 years.  I have sampled alot of French cakes on our many trips to France over the years and I have to say that Gateau Breton is one of my all time favorites.  Rich and buttery it is not at all sweet but totally satisfying.  A slice of Gateau Breton just cries out for coffee or tea, a roaring fire and a good book.  It is truly a delicious nice to have on-hand cake.

Gateau Breton of course originates in the Brittany region of France,  a region famous for its butters.  French butters have a cru just like French wines.  There are different butters for cooking, general table use, baking etc.  And of course there is no better French butter than that made in Britiany so this was an opportunity for me to splurge and get out that expensive European butter that I save for making puff pastry and other such treats.

It is simple to make.  Toast the almonds and grind them with part of the sugar.  Meanwhile beat the remaining sugar and butter until creamy.  Add the egg yolks one at a time and beat them in well.  Then add the almond mixture, liquour and vanilla and beat well.  Then add the flour in four additions, beating to incorporate between each addition.  Spoon the batter into the pan and bake for 35-45 minutes.  Mine was done in 35 mintes at 325 degrees in my convection oven.  Cook on a rack, unmold and enjoy.

This is a short post this week but this cake is just so simple to make and so simply delicious to eat there really isn’t much else to say other than Bon Appetit.  Enjoy

Ready for the oven

Out of the oven

Next Up:  Baby Lemon Cheesecakes