img_5755This is another one of those recipes that I wanted to make for the holidays and just didn’t get around to doing.  Now that I have finally made it I am so sorry that I didn’t get to it sooner.  As I have said, I am a cake batter eater.  When I licked the spoon on this one I shot straight into the stratosphere.  I just thought, if the batter tastes this good, the cake is going to be out of this world, and indeed it is.  It is a very simple bundt cake but with the fresh ginger, treacle ( or molasses), nutmeg and Chinese 5 spice powder, it has to be the worlds most grown up gingerbread.  If you like gingerbread, you are going to love this cake.  Rich, dense, moist and spicy.  What else could you ask for.  This one is absolutely perfect for the holidays, from Thanksgiving right through the New Year and if your like me and love gingerbread, then it is going to be a favorite all through the year.

img_5759Where you may ask does all this flavor come from.  Well, from none other than my beloved Nigella Lawson.  It is a recipe from her latest book, “Simply Nigella”.  For those of you who are fans and wouldn’t dream of not owning every one of here books, this recipe is in there.  For those of you who simply want to try the recipe you can find it here:

img_5756https://www.tastingtable.com/cook/recipes/apple-cider-spiced-bundt-cake-recipe-nigella-lawson-recipe-salted-caramel-sauce

There is also the recipe for the Salted Caramel Sauce.  If you prefer your cake plain or simply can’t face making caramel, this one can stand on its own.  If you go for the gusto, you won’t be disappointed.

img_5758