First of all I want to thank Marie for selecting me as this weeks Heavenly Cake Bakers featured baker.  It was a big surprise and a great honor to be chosen among such stand out bakers and bloggers.  Thank you again Marie.  I also want to thank everyone for the wonderful comments about my Whipped Cream Cake.  I truly loved the cake.  For all those wondering about that Heritage Bundt Pan, it is available through Williams-Sonoma both in the store and online.  It sells for $34.00.  The exclusive gold finish was rated by Americas Test Kitchen as the best in the baking pan category and they deemed it well worth the cost.  I plan on replacing all my baking pans with the Williams-Sonoma gold finish pans.  Now, on to this weeks cake.

We had a nice easy cake for the second week in a row and while I didn’t like this one quite as much as last weeks it has earned a place on my bake often list.  Its quick to make and I always have all the ingredients on hand which makes it great for last minute baking.  I have to admit that I cheated a bit this week.  I didn’t have a 6 cup pan and was too cheap to go buy one so I used my 10 cup bundt pan instead.  Other than the cake being a little short I don’t think it really harmed the outcome at all as the cake tasted great.  I just dusted my flat little cake with cocoa powder and no one said a word as they devoured all of it so I will just keep my little secret.

There were two things that surprised me about this cake.  One is that it makes one cake and two cupcakes.  I found that a little odd because when I was putting it together I didn’t think there was enough batter to even make one cake.  (That is probably because I cheated and used the wrong sized pan LOL)  I imagine I could have put all the batter into my 10 cup pan and it would have worked out fine.  I will try that next time.  At any rate I loved having those two cupcakes as I got to taste it without having to cut the cake which I was saving for company anyway.  The second thing I found surprising is that that little quarter teaspoon of cinnamon in the streusel mixture would deliver such a punch against such aggressive ingredients as cocoa and brown sugar.  I didn’t think it would make any difference at all but was pleasantly surprised to get that jolt of unexpected flavor.  Very nice.

 

Making the batter is easy.  Cream the butter and then slowly add the sugar.  Next add the eggs and egg whites and vanilla and beat together.  Then add the dry ingredients and the sour cream in three additions, beating to incorporate with each addition.  Then into the pan, into the oven and then indulge in good honest coffee cake.  A true winner.  Since this went onto my favorites list I may have to break down and get that 6 cup pan, I have a feeling I am going to need it.  Enjoy

Next Up:  Torta de las Tres Leches