I am on the mend this week and thought I would venture back into the kitchen for a little baking.  Since this was a free choice week I decided not to push my luck and again opted for one of the quick and easy cakes.  This cake is indeed easy but I think the title is a bit of a misnomer.  This is hardy a party cake, at least I would never serve it for a party.  It is definitely an adult cake with very intense flavors. And, it definitely cries out for a cup of strong hot coffee to go along with it.  While it was certainly very easy and the flavors are intense, it was not universally well received around my house.  I took it to the neighbors for coffee and most people there found it to be way too intense and a bit on the bitter side.  I have to admit that I agree with them.  If I was going to make this one again, I would certainly leave out the nuts as I am sure they are what caused the bitterness and I would try using regular super fine sugar as opposed to the turbinado sugar for maybe a bit more sweetness.  With all that said, let’s bake.

In a medium bowl combine the cocoa, sour cream, eggs and vanilla and stir until a lumpy batter consistency is reached and set aside.

The cocoa mixture

In the bowl of a stand mixer blend together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Add the butter and half of the cocoa mixture and blend on low until the dry ingredients are moistened. 

Adding butter and cocoa

 Increase the speed to medium and beat for one and a half minutes to lighten the mixture.  Add the remaining cocoa mixture in two additions, beating at least 30 seconds after each addition to strengthen the structure. 

The completed batter

 Scrape the batter into a prepared bundt pan and bake at 350 degrees for 50 – 60 minutes or until done.

While the cake is baking, make the glaze.  In a small sauce pan combine cocoa, sugar and water and stir until dissolved.  Bring the mixture to a rapid boil, remove from the heat and cool a few minutes.  Add the vanilla and whatever liqueur you are using (I used Kahlua) and stir. 

When the cake is done, remove it from the oven and poke holes all over the bottom with a skewer and then brush the bottom of the cake with some of the glaze.  Drape the pan with plastic wrap and invert it onto a cooling rack.  Brush the cake generously with the remaining glaze and allow to cool completely.

 

When cool, invert the cake onto a cardboard cake round and carefully remove the plastic wrap and reinvert the cake onto a serving plate.

Enjoy!

Next Up:   Genoise Tres Cafe